NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

2012 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

The Government has made the following announcement about the Premier’s Literary Awards and the Premier’s History Awards – 

NSW Government strengthens Premier’s Literary and History Awards

NSW Premier Barry O’Farrell today announced a reinvigorated and strengthened NSW Premier’s Literary Awards and the NSW Premier’s History Awards will both be held at the State Library in November this year.

Published: 5 April 2012

Read the full media release here

The State Library will make an announcement on nominations and presentations when details are finalised. 

The contact at the State Library of NSW is Lucy Milne, Director, Marketing & Business Development, email lmilne@sl.nsw.gov.au 

2011 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards

Established in 1979, the awards have honoured many of Australia’s greatest writers and most significant works. The awards help to establish values and standards in Australian literature and draw international attention to some of the country’s best writers and to the cultural environment that nurtures them.


  • Christina Stead Prize for Fiction
  • Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction
  • Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry
  • Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature
  • Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature
  • Community Relations Commission Award
  • UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing
  • Play Award
  • Script Writing Award
  • NSW Premier’s Prize for Literary Scholarship (biennial)
  • NSW Premier’s Translation Prize (biennial)
  • Special Award
  • Book of the Year
  • People’s Choice Award

2011 NSW Premier’s Literary Award winners announced