Revered composer Caitlin Yeo names 2022 Sydney UNESCO City of Film Award recipient

Photo of Caitlin Yeo, 2022 UNESCO City of Film Award
recipient. Photographer: Belinda Rolland © 2022.

Acclaimed, multi-award-winning screen composer Caitlin Yeo is the recipient of the 2022 Sydney UNESCO City of Film Award, announced at the Closing Night of the 69th Sydney Film Festival.

Caitlin said she was honoured to receive the award and acknowledged all the filmmakers who she has collaborated with so far.

“I am absolutely overwhelmed to receive the news that I am the recipient of the 2022 Sydney UNESCO City Film Award. As a screen composer, it is especially humbling to be recognised for my work,” Ms Yeo said.

“I would like to thank all the amazing filmmakers I have worked with in my career for sharing a desire to push the boundaries of what music can do, how it is created, and its poetic ability to illuminate vision. We are all allies together, and of course, my music would not exist if it were not for the remarkable Australian stories, I have had the privilege to compose for.”

Acting Head of Screen NSW David Gordon said he was thrilled for this year’s recipient, whose skills and talent have contributed greatly to the strengthening of the local screen industry.

“Caitlin, who has long been a champion for female composers and whose work has lifted over 60 productions, is an excellent choice for the award, which acknowledges a NSW screen practitioner who has contributed significantly to the screen industry,” Mr Gordon said.

“Caitlin Yeo is the first composer to take home the Sydney UNESCO City of Film Award, and it is a privilege to experience her immensely powerful, emotive and creative work, which has elevated so many homegrown screen projects.”

The award was presented to Caitlin by filmmaker Sally Aitken who paid tribute to her skills as a creative powerhouse.

“Caitlin Yeo is one of the most perceptive and intuitive artists working in Australia today. For the past 10 years we’ve had the pleasure of collaborating on a number of films, each time bringing an unorthodox idea to the score arising from our rich, far-ranging discussions,” Ms Aitken said.

“It is this process that ultimately always results in Caitlin’s unique signature in the score. It’s been a creative joy, always surprising, and I hope will continue for a long, long time. I am absolutely delighted she is this year’s recipient of the 2022 Sydney UNESCO City of Film Award and couldn’t be prouder.”

The $10,000 cash prize is presented annually by Screen NSW, under the auspice of Sydney UNESCO City of Film, to an outstanding NSW-based screen practitioner whose work stands for innovation, imagination, and impact. Previous winners are: Karina Holden (2021) Blackfella Films (2019), Warwick Thornton (2018), Leah Purcell (2017), and Lynette Wallworth (2016).

The prize also includes up to four-weeks’ residence at Charlie’s, a hub for the Australian film-making community in Los Angeles, opened by Australians in Film, in partnership with Screen NSW, AFTRS, Screen Queensland, Film Victoria and South Australian Film Corporation.

Please see attached images of Caitlin Yeo receiving her award, further images available here.

Caitlin Yeo

Caitlin is an acclaimed, multi award winning screen composer with over 60 film and TV credits. Her signature style emerges from a fascination with music from different cultures and 20th century form. Her compositions are alive with a deep love of telling stories with music.

Caitlin has recently composed the music for the crime drama series True Colours for Bunya Productions/SBS TV, the comedy drama series The PM’s Daughter for Fremantle Media/ABC TV and New Gold Mountain for Goalpost Productions/SBS TV. She is currently working on the Stan/Matchbox Pictures drama series Bad Behaviour, and the feature documentary Kindred for NITV.

Her credits also include Wakefield, Playing with Sharks: The Valerie Taylor Story, The Rocket, Danger Close: The Battle of Long Tan, David Stratton: A Cinematic Life, The Butterfly Tree, After The Apology, The Pink House, Growing Up Gayby, and Bomb Harvest.

Caitlin’s scores for New Gold Mountain and Playing with Sharks: The Valerie Taylor Story were awarded ‘Best Original Score in TV’ and ‘Best Original Score in a Documentary’ at the 2021 AACTA Awards. Playing with Sharks: The Valerie Taylor Story was also awarded ‘Best Music in a Documentary’ at the 2021 Screen Music Awards.

Published: 23 June 2022