Nine NSW artists in running for prestigious Fellowship

Nine emerging visual artists from across the state have been shortlisted to receive the $30,000 2017 NSW Visual Arts Fellowship (Emerging) from the NSW Government through Create NSW in partnership with Artspace Visual Arts Centre.

The Fellowship is awarded annually to enable an emerging artist in the early stages of their career to undertake a self-directed program of professional development (such as research, further study and internships) across the course of two years.

The group will now develop works for a collaborative exhibition to be held at Artspace in Woolloomooloo from 8 November to 9 December this year, where an assessment panel will announce a final recipient for the Fellowship.

Minister for the Arts Don Harwin said the Fellowship opportunity demonstrates the importance of new talent in creating a thriving arts and cultural sector that shows support for emerging artists.

“It is extremely satisfying to see a wide range of diversity across this year’s shortlisted emerging NSW artists, and promoting their work is a huge focus for us as we build an ever-improving reputation for arts and cultural excellence across the state.

“As well as recognising one eventual individual who will be awarded the Fellowship, the shortlist exhibition is a fantastic platform for new artists to display their work and gain public exposure and recognition. I am very excited about the future of the whole group.”

Create NSW CEO Michael Brealey, who was present at Artspace in Woolloomooloo to meet and congratulate the shortlist, said that he was impressed with the calibre showcased by the group.

“Hats off to our shortlist as the competition each year is extremely high. The group is a great example of the most promising visual arts talent from across regional NSW, Western Sydney and our metro area, and we look forward to supporting their professional development with the exhibition in November as well as with our Fellowship opportunity.”

For further information on arts, screen and cultural funding, including targeted support opportunities, please click here.

The shortlisted visual artists are:

  • Fernando do Campo (Sydney) is an Argentinian-Australian artist, writer and curator who focuses on the generative power of decoloniality across studio disciplines, writing, and curatorial practices.
  • Emma Fielden (Parramatta) is a contemporary artist from Western Sydney working across sculpture, installation, drawing and contemporary jewellery for work that focuses on the notion and elements of drawing.
  • Ashleigh Garwood (Summer Hill) uses a combination of analogue and digital processes to create rigorous images that pay close attention to the relationship of form, content and concept across landscape imagery and expectations of the natural environment.
  • Spence Messih (Oatley) works across photography, video, text and installation for research and practice that explores notions of queer time and gender through focusing on the human relationship to natural phenomena.
  • Claudia Nicholson (Newtown) blends Colombian and Australian influences through painting, textiles, ceramics, illustration and video, whilst paying tribute to Latin American folklore and Australian pop culture references.
  • Emily Parsons-Lord (Newtown) creates cross-disciplinary contemporary art that is informed by research and critical dialogue with materials and climate science.
  • Jason Phu (Balmain) creates works that focuses on the mixed cultural identities of Australians, drawing upon his own cultural heritage as a Chinese Australian.
  • Shan Turner-Carroll (Cessnock) uses photography, sculpture, performance and film for works that question current modes of living and explore alternative methodologies and modes of education.
  • Louise Zhang (Canterbury) creates vibrant paintings and amorphous sculptural pieces that explore the middle ground between what we perceive as ‘cute’ and ‘grotesque’.
Share options
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • email
  • Add to favorites

Published: 10 August 2017