Deputy Premier welcomes Young Regional Artists to NSW Parliament

L-R Back row: Connor Coman-Sargent, Bethany Thornber, Jacob Raupach, Matt Ortiz, Deputy Premier and Minister for the Arts, James Farley, Nathan Wood, Amos Wilksch, Tullara Connors L-R Front row: Claire Leske, Ashley Hansell, Heidi Maree Francis.

L-R Back row: Connor Coman-Sargent, Bethany Thornber, Jacob Raupach, Matt Ortiz, Deputy Premier and Minister for the Arts, James Farley, Nathan Wood, Amos Wilksch, Tullara Connors
L-R Front row: Claire Leske, Ashley Hansell, Heidi Maree Francis.

Deputy Premier and Minister for the Arts Troy Grant today met 11 young regional NSW- based artists who have been awarded $10,000 scholarships under a major new Government scheme to develop emerging artistic talent.

“It was fantastic to learn first-hand how these talented young artists are benefiting from this exciting new program to help foster the next generation of regional arts and cultural professionals,” Mr Grant said.

“I am proud the NSW Government has created a program exclusively for regional youth to develop their careers and connect with arts organisations and training opportunities.

“The NSW Liberals & Nationals is investing in the next generation of talent to grow their skills and expand their knowledge to take back to regional communities,” Mr Grant said.

Mr Grant was joined by prominent members of the arts community at NSW Parliament as part of a two-day professional development workshop for the young artists.

The workshop run via Arts NSW enables scholarship recipients to meet key people in the arts sector and visit arts venues and organisations including Carriageworks in Eveleigh, Information and Cultural Exchange in Parramatta and attend a performance by Belvoir.

In August, Mr Grant announced 16 young regional artists had been awarded inaugural scholarships under the first round of the program, which will offer 100 $10,000 scholarships over four years.
Applications will open for the remaining nine Young Regional Arts Scholarships for year one on 1 December 2015 and are available to artists aged between 18 and 25 years old.

The inaugural NSW Young Regional Artists Scholarship recipients:

  • Jarrod Takle of Albury: a 12-month performance skill program at the National Circus School in Montreal, Canada. The program will involve working with some of the world’s best circus coaches.
  • Bethany Thornber of Corowa: Aboriginal arts and culture mentorship with artist Treahna Hamm. The mentorship will cover traditional Aboriginal art making and contemporary art practice.
  • Jordan Bos of Coolamon: Entering the Fold paper sculptures mentorship with artist and curator Sarah McEwan to develop a body of new sculptural work for a solo exhibition in a local gallery.
  • Jacob Raupach of Wagga Wagga: a series of professional development and research trips in Australia and Europe to meet with artists, publishers and galleries and attend one of the world’s largest photobook festivals. The visits will lead to the production of an artist’s monograph.
  • Rosslyn Wythes of Orange: professional dance development in Australia and Europe. The scholarship will include a mentorship with Dirtyfeet, workshops with Strut (Perth), Ted Stoffer (Brussels) and Shai Faran (Berlin) and company placements in Sweden and Germany.
  • Claire Leske of Wagga Wagga: a dance project to develop and teach a cerebral approach to movement. The project will involve workshops, a mentorship and skill development with regional NSW dancers.
  •  James Farley of Wagga Wagga: an arts residency at Broken Hill Art Exchange to create works on Broken Hill’s environmental regeneration using experimental photography.
  • Tullara Connors of Grafton: professional music development mentorships including working with some of Ireland’s best Tenor Banjo players.
  • Zachariah Johnson of Albury: a professional artistic development program in circus and physical theatre. The program will include visiting circus schools in Europe and an internship with Circus Oz.
  • Ashley Hansell of Dundee: a professional design development program to expand a fashion label and create workshops. The project will help develop a handmade fashion business in Glen Innes and provide workshops on making recycled wearable art.
  • Amos Wilksch of Culcairn: a six-to-eight week residency at Sydney’s Belvoir St Theatre for the rehearsal and bump-in of a 2016 production, and dramaturgical support for a new work.
  • Nathan Wood of Byron Bay: screen project A Timelapse Journey Through the NSW Wilderness. The project will involve time lapse photography and video of NSW national parks and wilderness areas.
  • Connor Coman-Sargent of Dubbo: design and digital arts project Second Sojourn: Extending the Journey. The project will include travel to Berlin and Barcelona to attend workshops by internationally renowned photographers.
  • Sophie Payten of Canowindra: a project to record and release a debut full length music album. Ms Payten will work with producer Ben McCarthy to make a folk/pop album with alternative and experimental elements.
  • Matt Ortiz of Albury: a 12-month program that includes workshops, a mentorship and song writing and recording to create an EP album.
  • Heidi Maree Francis of Dubbo: a project to record an original full-length album in the indie/pop genre. The album will be recorded at a local studio with all music written and played by Ms Francis and her band.


Share options
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • email
  • Add to favorites